Opening Night Preview

Opening Night Preview

The official opening of Art Toronto is a unique and important benefit gala for the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) which has raised $5 million dollars over the past 16 years. Funds raised at the event help support the AGO’s compelling exhibition and education programs, with a portion of the proceeds going to purchase works of art at the Fair. A highly anticipated part of this must-attend event is the acquisition of artworks by the gallery to “enhance the AGO’s permanent collection”.

In 2016, the benefit raised over $500,000 with the AGO purchasing nine works by seven Canadian artists, including Nadia Belerique, Sara Cwynar, Jessica Eaton, Kara Hamilton, Zachari Logan, Annie Pootoogook and Janet Werner. To mark the opening night, guests of the Preview were also treated to an exclusive performance by Choir! Choir! Choir!. Click here for photos from last year's Opening Night Preview.

“I experienced Art Toronto for the first time this year and was massively impressed by the range and quality of works,” says Stephan Jost, the AGO’s Michael and Sonja Koerner Director, and CEO. “I’m thrilled that the AGO acquired nine new works by seven contemporary artists to enhance our collection, particularly exciting is six of these artists are women, which strengthens our focus on increasing representation in our collection. Art Toronto is a key way for museum donors to purchase excellent works from around the world.”

DATE: Thursday, October 26, 2017
TIME: 6:30 PM – 10 PM
LOCATION: Metro Toronto Convention Centre
TICKETS: $225 (Limited Availability)

Buy Opening Night Preview Tickets

This event is organized by the Opening Night Preview Committee, members of the 2017 committee include:

David Angelo
Jeanne Banka
Emily Ben-Haim
Simon Bentley
Cathy Bisset-Parkes (Honorary Chair)
Olivia Cinqmars
Simon Clements
William Craddock
Angelica Demetriou
Diana Hamm
Vanessa Kalisz
Kelly McCray
Sabrina Montemarano

Deanne Moser
Mia Nielsen
Heather Partridge (Co-Chair)
Daniel Rechtshaffen
Patti Rosati
Susannah Rosenstock
Nikola Rukaj
Alison Smith
Rita Stuart
Claire Taylor
Courtney Toomath-West
Susan Wortzman (Co-Chair)
Juliana Zalucky

Special Collectors' Preview

The Special Collectors’ Preview is a benefit event for the Art Gallery of Ontario and offers guests exclusive early access to the fair. Ideal for serious collectors, this champagne reception grants the very first opportunity to view and purchase works at the fair before it opens to the public. Guests are welcome to stay for the Opening Night Preview and enjoy the rest of the evening.

DATE: Thursday, October 26, 2017
TIME: 4:30–10:00PM
LOCATION: Metro Toronto Convention Centre
TICKETS: $325 (Limited Availability)

Buy Special Collectors' Preview Tickets

After-Party at Drake One Fifty

Drake One Fifty hosts an exclusive Post-Preview party at the Drake Hotel’s downtown outpost with live entertainment, signature cocktails and delicious treats. Guests of the Special Collectors’ Preview or Opening Night Preview are welcome to attend.

DATE: Thursday, October 26, 2017
TIME: 10:00PM–Late
LOCATION: 150 York Street
ACCESS: Special Collectors’ or Opening Night Preview ticket holders


Art Toronto invites you to gallery hop across 13 of the top contemporary galleries in Toronto's west-end. The following galleries will be welcoming all art enthusiasts for a night of refreshments, cocktails and incredible art! This event is open to the public and free of charge.

DATE: Friday, October 27, 2017
TIME: 6:00 - 10:00PM
LOCATION: 13 West-end Galleries
ACCESS: Free event open to the public.

1. Angell Gallery
1444 Dupont Street, Unit 15
The Anxious Body, Coady Brown, Jonathan Key, Langdon Graves, Bradley Wood, Kathy Osborn, Natalka Husar, Rafael Ochoa, John Holland, Stella Cade
(October 13 - November 11, 2017)

2. Christopher Cutts Gallery
21 Morrow Avenue
Girls! Girls! Girls!, Dana Holst
(October 21 - November 18, 2017)

3. Clint Roenisch
190 St. Helens Avenue
Language And Music, Harold Klunder
(October 27- December 2, 2017)

4. Daniel Faria Gallery
188 St. Helens Avenue
Re: Work Over Time, Allyson Vieira
(September 9 - October 28, 2017)

5. Division Gallery
45 Ernest Avenue
Asterisms, Nicolas Baier
(October 24 - December 23, 2017)

6. Erin Stump Projects
1558 Dupont Street
Soft Glove, Jessica Groome
(September 13 - October 28, 2017)

7. Gallery TPW
170 St Helens Avenue
Triangle Trade, Jérôme Havre, Cauleen Smith, and Camille Turner
(September 14 - November 11, 2017)

1086 Queen Street West
Excerpts, Group Show
(October 20 - 29, 2017)

9. MKG127
1445 Dundas Street West
Soft Drusen, Liza Eurich
(October 21 – November 18, 2017)

10. Olga Korper Gallery
17 Morrow Avenue
a thing worth doing, Ken Nicol
(October 5 - November 11, 2017)

11. Scrap Metal
11 Dublin Street, Unit E
All the Names, Ivana Basic, Helen Barff, Walead Beshty, Christian Boltanski, Tracey Emin, Iris Haussler, Aiko Hachisuka, Liz Mager, Annette Messager & Shinique Smith
(October 27, 2017 - March 10, 2018)

12. Stephen Bulger Gallery
1356 Dundas St West
The Tree Planters, Rita Leistner
(October 21 - November 18, 2017)

13. Zalucky Contemporary
3044 Dundas Street West
“And the voices came from nowhere”, Lee Henderson
(October 14 – November 11, 2017)

RSVP on Facebook